Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
medford_tom

Is this a weed???

Medford_Tom
10 years ago

Hello,

Newbie here. This is my first Spring in a new house and we've been doing some new plantings and dealing with what we inherited, which was in certain instances in a rather wild state. This one particular plant in the yard has perplexed several gardening savvy people who have been to the house and seen it. Most feel that it might be an overgrown weed, but no one is sure. Today, I noticed that it seemed to flowering(??) and there was a lot of ant activity in the area where this was taking place, which has me more confused and somewhat alarmed. Any ideas what this thing is?

My apologies if this is the wrong forum for a question like this.

Thanks,
Tom

Comments (10)

• Kimmsr
    10 years ago

A "weed" is a plant you do not want growing where you do not want it to grow, so this might be a "weed" or it may not. Keep in mind also that much of what we classify as "weeds" are wildflowers that provide a food source for many of our beneficial insects.
    The presence of ants may indicate something or it may not.

• Medford_Tom
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks for the response. The flowers coming in actually seem quite interesting, so I think i'll wait to see where this goes.

• lisanti07028
    10 years ago

Those look like catalpa flowers. Are there any catalpa trees around your neighborhood?

• morz8 - Washington Coast
    10 years ago

Tom, do you have room for this tree (catalpa) at its eventual size - it used to be thought a pretty tree for larger landscapes but has lost popularity over the years. Reasons being its leaf and twig litter, habit of leafing out fairly late in Spring then dropping its leaves at the first hint of fall frost, and from being somewhat brittle, does not always hold up well to storms.