Return to the Weeds Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What are these and how can I kill them?

Posted by oscarsonthepond WA (My Page) on
Mon, Jul 14, 14 at 11:16

I started seeing these weeds pop up in my lawn earlier this year. This is my first time having a lawn, so I didn't pay much attention to them, but now they're everywhere! My questions are: (i) what are they and (ii) how can I kill them without hurting my lawn? I put some Lilly Miller Weed N Feed on the lawn about 5 days ago...the lawn doesn't really look greener yet, but it looks like maybe some of the weeds are dying (not totally sure). How long should I wait before I can conclude whether that worked or didn't work? Should I try putting something else either on the lawn generally or just on the weeds? If so, how long do I need to wait? How long should I wait before I weed and feed again? I'm happy to buy whatever and do whatever it takes, but I don't want to fry my lawn either.

I'm a total noob, so any help is much appreciated! Thank you!! Here are links to the two photos:

http://i.imgur.com/C65gbH5.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/Y6ikmvr.jpg

Here is a link that might be useful: Second weed photo

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What are these and how can I kill them?

That looks like one of the Thistles. The active "weed" killer in that "weed and feed" is triclopyr which does not seem to have much affect on thistles from what I have seen.

o

I try not to use very often but ortho weed be gone always works it may take 2-3 applications I had that issue with wild violets and found out it takes 3 applications after mowing it worked and I had a serious problem

o