Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jayafink

Is this photo of a vegetable or a weed?

jayafink
12 years ago

This is my first year of growing veggies so I am a rookie. The following has taken over the onion section of my garden. I don't know if it is something else I planted that drifted there or if it is a weed. I have about fifteen different veggies planted but there is nothing else anywhere in the garden that looks like it. If it is a weed, I would think it would be someplace else also, but like I said, I'm a newbie so I don't know. Any help would be appreciated.

Image link:

Comments (5)

• noinwi
    12 years ago

Kind of a small photo, but it looks to me like this...

Here is a link that might be useful: prostrate pigweed

• linda_schreiber
    12 years ago

First, if it is taking over the onion bed, it's a 'weed'...

Second, I don't *know* what it is. But the young plants in the picture tweaked the search-image part of my brain. In many ways, looks like young radish, but not quite.

I did some brief searching, and found that a wild radish relation is a weed problem in WI, and elsewhere.

I'm too tired and lazy to pinpoint a link [sorry....] but you might want to research "Raphanus raphanistrum". The pictures I found quick-and-easy were mostly of flowering stalks and older plants, but a couple were similar to your picture. But this may be what you have.

• Kimmsr
    12 years ago

If it is a plant you do not want growing where you do not want it it is a "weed".

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    12 years ago

This is my first year of growing veggies so I am a rookie. The more the merrier!

The following has taken over the (fill-in-the-blank) section of my garden. Almost always an indicator that you have an unwelcome intruder.