Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
faerybum

alternative weed barrier?

faerybum
18 years ago

hi! im currently redoing the 'patio' outside my back door; it was full of pavers which were laid right on the dirt, so there are tons of weeds in between. im pulling them out and putting down gravel and stepping stones, and want to put down a weed barrier first... im a college student, so if you know what i mean, i dont want to spend $20 on the store bought stuff, whats a good alternative? is newspaper good? how about an old sheet? and will water drain through the newspaper when it rains? it gets muddy there, which is part of the reason why im putting down gravel. thanks!

ustya

Comments (15)

• dawnstorm
    18 years ago

Try lasagna gardening: a layer of newspaper, a layer of compost, a layer of grass, etc. There may be a forum here on it, but if not, you can do a Google search. Rodale press has a book on it; I got a copy in a used book store. I was a college student once--I feel your pain!

• Judy_B_ON
    18 years ago

Of course, if any weed seeds land on the gravel in the cracks between the stones the seeds will germinate and grow. There is no way around having to pull the weeds that grow in gravel between stones unless you use an herbicide.

• faerybum
    Original Author
    18 years ago

thanks guys, ill try the newspaper. i know ill have to weed afterwards too but atleast what i couldnt dig up wont pop through!

• PacNWest
    18 years ago

boiling water poured on the weeds gets rid of them, also rock salt kills them, both inexspensive.

Lasagna method is for where you want things to grow, not where you are trying to kill them. Good luck!

• midnight_jasmine
    18 years ago

Cardboard works great!! Use cardboard and then put down some plys of newspaper and cover it with compost and wait until Spring and it will compost the weeds underground. It is also called Sheet Mulching. Worked wonders on my property.

• PurpleRainbow
    18 years ago