Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bamakrautie

Help!Blackberries everywhere...

bamakrautie
18 years ago

I am new to gardening and try not to use too many chemicals in my yard. we moved to a new house and the flower beds around the house are populated by blackberries and some little trees i want to get rid off. I also have some nice huge camellias, gardenias and rhododendron bushes in these beds which I don't want to damage. Is it safe and productive to use Round up to get rid off the blackberries? I never used Round up and I wonder if it would slow down the growth of any new plants and flowers I want to plant in these beds. Or is the only right way to get on my hands and knees and pull them out? What about the little trees that i can't identify, is it enough just to cut them off or does my husband have to pull them out with the roots? Wouldn't that damage the root system of the bushes I want to keep?

I am thankful for any suggestions what to do. Have a happy new year and excuse my broken english, I am german...

Manu

Comments (17)

• JAYK
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

You can control blackberries in many ways, including by hand. If you do choose to use Roundup, you must not apply the spray to any plants you wish to keep. Any Roundup that hits green plant tissue will be absorbed. However, use of Roundup near desirable plants will not slow down their growth, unless you misapply. It is not soil active, unlike some herbicides.

Small trees can often be pulled up without much disturbance to your landscape plants.

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    18 years ago

Personally, I would pull out anything that I did not want by hand. Then, as new growth emerges from unwanted vines, etc, I would PAINT a solution of RoundUp on the newest foliage. This can be done with a brush or sponge, etc. Just don't get the RoundUp on your skin.

• bamakrautie
    Original Author
    18 years ago