Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ksfarmer_gw

Squirrel with mange?

ksfarmer
17 years ago

This poor guy was at the sunflower feeder . I've never seen this in squirrels but it looks like mange. Anybody have any ideas?

{{gwi:1344356}}

Comments (9)

• anita22
    17 years ago

Yes, it looks like sarcoptic mange to me but I'm no expert. If it is, everything I read cautions against feeding because the mite will be spread so easily that way.

You could try showing the picture to your vet and asking for an opinion or advice.

• MaryInSpokane
    17 years ago

I don't know if I would withhold food as he could have been seriously injured by a cat or dog. I would definitely get a vet's advice.

• knottyceltic
    17 years ago

Mage or possibly rodent mites, as you can see mites would prefer to burrow in the skin and bite where the squirrel can't reach ie. behind the head/ears and at the rump where he can't reach to bite or scratch. Sarcoptic mange might not be so particular as to where it is located as you see in this picture. I would give hiim some extra TLC in the form of protein treats...peanuts, peanutbutter suet and even bits of meat hidden/mulched into the suet. Most animals can tolerate 'some' mites but when they become so badly infested like this it causes anaemia and the aniamal may die. So a high protein, high fat diet may be his only salvation unless someone can trap and treat him. The warmer winter weather may be the culprit if it is indeed mites.

Barb

• maifleur01
    17 years ago

I do not know if it will help your squirrel but if you have an old paint brush dip it or sprinkle it with one of the mite dusts and wire where the squirrel can brush against it. If the squirrel is smart enough it might help. or put the dust is a shallow pan for dust bathing. As bad looking as this baby is almost anything you do to try and help him is good.

Since the mites are inside his skin dusting may make him itch even more but he is miserable.

• nosambos
    17 years ago