Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
heathrjoy

Free Lunch

heathrjoy
18 years ago

This may be a stupid question and it may be answered somewhere else and I just haven't found it yet...so please just let me know...

If I were to plant a bed of "goodies" for my local bunny rabbits would that keep them from eating my favorite plants? Or would it just invite more bunnies into the yard for a free-for-all lunch on all my plants?

I love to have the bunnies around, I just hate it when they eat my fav flowers.

Any advice, or links to info sites is greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Heather

Comments (8)

• jillmcm
    18 years ago

My own guess is that you'd end up with more bunnies and they'd eat anything they felt like. Have you tried some of the spray on repellents on the market like Liquid Fence?

• heathrjoy
    Original Author
    18 years ago

I'm new to gardening this year and I hadn't heard of Liquid Fence. I'll look for it. Thanks. Once my garden is big enough I may not mind if the bunnies munch here and there, but when I only have a few blooms I hate to see them disappear...and find shreds of them on the ground. OH! Those fuzz balls! :)
    Thanks for the recommendation!
    Heather

• Elaine_NJ6
    18 years ago

There are a few different things you can do, not to minimize their eating but to minimize the perceived damage they cause:

Allow a small patch of grass to go to seed. They will eat the seedheads and ignore other stuff (they'll also like the cover it provides).

Don't herbicide the "broad-leafed weeds" in your lawn. Those are also known as violets and clover, many creatures' favorite foods.

Have so many plants, so crowded together, that the damage they do becomes unobtrusive. When I had just a few shrubs it seemed like the rabbits were always devouring everything. Now I sort of notice some rabbit damage in early spring, but it's no big deal.