Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
donnagwd

Wren? Sparrow? Nesting on screened porch...

donnagwd
15 years ago

Oy.

Just when I want to start using the screened porch again, I find a small mama bird out there nesting in a birdhouse that was meant to be decorative.

I've been going out every couple of days and she seems to be nesting. I found the small hole in the corner of the screen where she's coming and going.

How long do I have to wait? Will the babies learn to fly off the corner of my screened porch, when it's so high above the ground? Will I be able to evict her at the opportune moment when the babies move out so I can use the porch again?

I'm a CPA, so until April 15th, I was at work every day until late and wasn't chomping to clean the porch up and use it again. Now I need to move the last of the firewood off and get the pollen dusted off.

Any advice? I'm soft-hearted, (maybe too much so?) as is DS-15 so we hate to move her out while nesting.

Comments (4)

• lisa11310
    15 years ago

Donna, thanks for letting her finish with her babies. How big is the entrance hole, if it is a very small one (less than 1&1/2") it is a Wren of some sort. You can go to www.whatbird.com to get an ID. It's hard to tell how long she will take unless you have a good idea of what day they hatch. You will notice a lot more coming and going while she is feeding them. As they get older and are nearing time to leave you will really hear them chirping when Mom comes with food. They should not take longer than 14 days once they hatch (not really sure of Wren timetable). Are your screens removable? if they are it may be a good time to take them down for a good cleaning. I think it will be a challenge for the babies to find the hole, is there any other opening for them to get out? Mom will eventually guide them out but it would be much easier on them if there was a bigger traget.

• donnagwd
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Lisa, thanks for the response.