Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
huachuma

Amazing...What some folks view as pests

huachuma
17 years ago

Hopefully, somebody will be able to assist this poster at the GW Garden Clinic before any more tree frogs are harmed...

A Florida member is looking for a way to discourage treefrogs from hanging around his/her porch. I got a little bent out of shape and I'm afraid my response wasn't very helpful, (thankfully I didn't post my first draft). If you've got any ideas I'm sure the frogs will be grateful.

The link is below...

Mike

Here is a link that might be useful: frog poop

Comments (5)

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    17 years ago

Let's move this down. Enough trouble has been caused, and the extremely negative and non productive comments have been yanked from the original post.

• kate_rose
    17 years ago

I didn't catch the first part of all this but I am a frog biologist by training.

There are some species of tree frogs in florida that are well documented to hang out at lights that are invasive. I am thinking specifically of the Cuban Treefrog. They can be really hard on local populations of frogs because they eat just about anything. It would be worth knowing what species this person has so that they would know if they should discourage the frogs from hanging out or actually get rid of them.

The best thing to do to discourage frogs is to turn out the light. If the light really needs to be on (its a safety issue) then I would suggest putting it on a post in a nearby flower bed so that the frog poop would just fertilize the flowers. We having motion sensitive lights so that our lights won't negatively impact wildlife who need darkness at night (not that we get any treefrogs up here but that could be the best bet).

HTH

Kate

• loris
    17 years ago

Kate,