Return to the Wildlife Garden Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
shrews in my house

Posted by NJdragonfly 7 (My Page) on
Wed, Sep 28, 05 at 16:56

Hi everyone!

I'm new to the gardenweb. I have a question that I'm hoping someone may be able to answer for me. I have recently moved to an area that has quite a bit of different kinds of wildlife. I believe the little fella in my house is a shrew. I did some research and he fits the description perfectly. Apparently, he has access in my bedroom closet (from the crawl space). I don't know if he could do damage or if he has a whole family with there 'little bags packed'. Anyhow, I certainly don't want to hurt the little guy. I was wondering if anyone else has had a shrew move into their house? Believe it or not....My husband and I actually saw him trying to pull a toy baby bottle under the closet door! Any info anyone could give me would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: shrews in my house

Wow, that does not sound like a shrew's behavior to me! I'm not aware of shrews ever moving into a house, or of a shrew that would be interested in a plastic object...can you describe the critter for us so we can try to confirm your identification? I would be very surprised if it were a shrew - but animals never cease to amaze us! :)

o

• Posted by EricWI Dane County WI (My Page) on
    Wed, Sep 28, 05 at 22:27

To my knowledge shrews eat earthworms, and would not attempt to live in a location with no food available.

o

The critter is small, about 3 to 4 inches long, with a short tail with short fur on it, dark in color, almost black, kind of a long and pointed nose, small eyes, small ears. He also doesn't really seem to notice us, unless we make a noise. If it isn't a shrew...does anyone have an idea of what he may be??

Thanks for your responses.

o

Get a little live trap, bait with dog food and send him outside after he's caught. Maybe he's a juvenile who is lost.

o