Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
birdloverlowell

Native Viburnums?

birdloverlowell
17 years ago

Hi,

I'm new to gardening and I want to start with viburnums that have berries that birds will eat. However, I'm confused about the term "native viburnums". So I'm throwing out 2 questions: 1. At the garden centers, there are Arrowwood viburnums like Chicago Lustre. Would those still be considered a native shrub for the Chicago area and attractive to birds? and 2. I am finding Mohawk viburnums that look great, and have berries, but reading about them tell me they might NOT be a native viburnum and so the birds might not want the berries on a Mohawk viburnum? Anyone have any of these shrubs?

Thanks!

Comments (6)

• loris
    17 years ago

Invasive plants are taking over many natural areas and causing problems for native plants and the wildlife that depends on them. For that reason, if possible, I think it's better to stick with native plants. I donÂt always do so though.

That said---and yes, I do admit to having a bit of an agenda here, :)
    birds and other wildlife often eat berries from non-native plants. In fact, that's part of what helps to spread invasives.

I did a Google search and found out Mohawk is a cultivar of Viburnum x burkwoodii which is not native, but at least from a quick look I didnÂt see any indications that it would be invasive near you. IÂm attaching a link to site I use to try to help determine whether I feel comfortable planting a given exotic. I donÂt depend on this site alone, but if it shows up as marked with red on this site, I try to avoid the plant. Mohawk didnÂt show up on this list, and V. dentatum which is the species for the cultivar ÂChicago Lustre shows up as native to Illinois. What I saw on Google shows both these plants as attractive to birds.