Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jasonkay_gw

Rudbeckia and butterflies

jasonkay
18 years ago

I have gradually been converting the backyard to plantings of native perrennials and have noticed a gradual increase in the # of butterflies. However, I notice that they don't spend much time on the rudbeckias. They completely ignore R. Fulgida Goldsturm. I also have R. Triloba -- these get some visits but the butterflies only seem to stay on each flower a moment or two. I always heard that Rudbeckias were good for attracting butterflies. Are they overrated?

Comments (5)

• Msrpaul
    18 years ago

Jason,

I gardened in KY a few years, now in Southeast. Although it is a great native and garden perrenial, it doesn't attract and hold a lot of butterflies, I have seen some mysterious cats on it, probably moths. There are many better flowers...especially coneflowers that hold more butterflies. I do have one species, it's my first year, and I don't know the name...but it's a butterfly magnet...were it not for a tropical storm outside, I'd go and look at the tag for you.

A suggestion. As I have been studying backyard wildlife habitats (NWF), and they have published a good book, I decided upon a good compromise. It goes like this,