Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lellie_gw

Need Quick ID, please!ID, Please!

lellie
18 years ago

I posted over on the reptile forum, but because this critter is right where I'm digging, I need to know if it's a simple garter snake or not NOW.

It's about 8-10" long.

Thanks!!!

I'm a little creeped out...it kept striking!

{{gwi:1349886}}

{{gwi:1349888}}

Comments (21)

• lisa11310
    18 years ago

Holey cow I don't know what it is but I would stay away till you find out!

• lellie
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Oh I am, Lisa! LOL
    I'm holed up in the house...LOLAM
    Hope it doesn't come looking for me...I really ticked'm off, I think.
    Yikes!

• garden4wildlife
    18 years ago

I'm by no means an expert, but thumbing through my Snakes of GA and SC guide, and searching on google images for a few species, I don't think you have a garter snake. You *may* have a pygmy rattlesnake; did you happen to hear a slight buzzing noise before the snake started striking at you? Pygmy rattlers have such tiny rattles that they're almost invisible and the most noise they make is something akin to a bee's buzz.

Whatever it is, I would be wary. A general rule of thumb is that snakes with heads as wide as the one you found are often venemous (of course there are exceptions to this rule both ways).

My other thought is maybe a hognose snake? I can't tell from either of your pictures if the snake you found has an upturned nose. If it does, that easily IDs it as one of the hognose snakes, all of which are nonvenemous. Hognoses have wider heads than most nonvenemous snakes. The behavior sounds like it could be a hognose, too. Hognoses will fan their heads and necks out (like a cobra) when bothered and they'll hiss and strike their heads, although they rarely actually bite. If you continue to bother a hognose doing this display, it will go belly-up and play dead.