Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hazelb_gw

attracting goldfinches in Z5 in November

hazelb
17 years ago

I'm new to backyard birdfeeding and have searched the forum messages but not found an answer to my question. I recently hung a black oil sunflower tube feeder, suet feeder and upside-down niger seed goldfinch feeder on a post in my back yard. After about a week and a half, I have birds on my sunflower feeder and suet feeder, but no goldfinches on the niger seed feeder. I've seen a few sparrows (I think) try to get to the niger seed but they can't feed upside down and give up. I put a couple of yellow ribbons on the feeder--at the suggestion of a wild bird feeder store here in Denver--but no luck.

Since I live in Z5 (Denver) I can't plant sunflowers to attact the goldfinches this fall and winter. Any suggestions? Could the problem the proximity of the sunflower seed feeder or soot feeder?

On second thought--I don't have binoculars yet to identify the birds at my feeder, but is it possible that the goldfinches are actually choosing the sunflower feeder rather than the niger feeder? I have to admit, I'm don't know how to identify a goldfinch before it turns yellow!

Thanks for any help!

Hazel Bond

Comments (8)

• ericwi
    17 years ago

Here in Madison, Wisconsin, we see goldfinches occasionaly, but not consistently. They seem to move about, not necessarily in a straightforward seasonal pattern. I haven't seen any recently around our house, but I have seen bluejays and cardinals in the past week. You might have to check with others in your neighborhood, who have bird feeders, and ask if goldfinches are living in the area, this time of year.

• hoorayfororganic
    17 years ago