Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
paulsiu

Could bird feeding end badly?

paulsiu
14 years ago

I was talking with a friend about bird feeding and he indicated that it has ended badly for him. He put up several feeders in his yard about 30 feet from his house. Initially, things were great. Birds show up everywhere to the feeders.

Unfortunately, having a bird feeder attracted squirrels, which wreck havoc in the yard.

After the squirrels came the hakws and there was massive carnage. He got tire of clearing eaten bird corpse from the yard,so he took down the feeder.

The squirrels were not happy that the feeder was taken down and starting to climb the screen in the house and try to chew their way in.

Has anyone have similar experiences? What could have been done to avoid these type of tragedy?

Paul

Comments (30)

• chickadeemelrose
    14 years ago

Well, I am no expert but after reading your post a couple of times Paul, I saw a couple of things that could have been done differently and, perhaps, brought about a different end.

Did your friend's feeders have cover nearby for the smaller birds? Or were the feeders wide open for hawks and other predators to take advantage? In a place where hawks are commonplace, cover would be critical for birds to escape to.

Also, were your friend's feeders equipped to fend off squirrels? Were they far enough off the ground and equipped with baffles, and properly sited so that squirrels would not be rewarded? I know that squirrels are a problem for everyone but many people seem to use baffles and strategies to keep squirrels away from the feeders, and hence, not get rewarded for their efforts.

I don't think that bird feeding needs to end badly. It might have in your friend's case, unfortunately. But there are many great resources out there to help people do it successfully (and this forum is one).

I don't think you should let one experience discourage you.

• maifleur01
    14 years ago