Return to the Winter Garden Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
what small plants do well in winter?

Posted by whitney_ SE,Fl,USA (My Page) on
Mon, Jan 14, 02 at 18:14

I am a student in middle school and I am doing a science project on plants. These plants are going to be planted in winter in pots. I don't know very much about plants, so I don't know what kind of plants to get for my project. Any advice would be appreciated.
Whitney:)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: what small plants do well in winter?

Does SE FL mean Southest Florida? If it does, you are in luck - lots of things will grow well in pots. Are they going to be indoors, or outdoors? How much sun? Your best bet is to go to a nursery and talk to the people there - they can give you the best guidance as to what works in your specific area.

For outdoors, you probably want to buy plants that are already started. There are lots of annuals you can try. Available now are pansies, snapdragons, and primroses - they're easy and very pretty. If you want to plant vegetables, you can try pole beans if you have a large pot and a trellis. Or bell peppers if you get a dwarf variety and have a pot that is pretty big.

If you are growing them indoors, you can start the plants from seed in flats, then transplant to pots as they get bigger. Nasturtiums are easy - pretty flowers and I hear you can eat them (but I haven't ever done it). Also easy from seed are sweet peas, but you need either a dwarf variety or a trellis.

Good luck and have fun!
:)

o

PLEASE, I NEED TO KNOW WHAT I CAN PLANT THIS TIME OF YEAR. SOMETHING THAT WILL BLOOM THIS SPRING? ANYTHING???? THANKS GIGI

o

• Posted by Lee1 z7 NY (My Page) on
    Sun, Jan 27, 02 at 20:11