Return to the Winter Garden Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
A Winter Garden in Ontario-Photos

Posted by wyndyacre z6B SW Ont. (My Page) on
Thu, Jan 17, 08 at 20:48

I've been developing my acre garden for 12 years and specifically designing for winter interest as well. It took me 5 or 6 years before I began to see a difference in the winter time.
I've planted a lot of different evergreens (I'm surrounded by empty farm fields in the winter and needed the windbreak) plus many ornamental trees. Birch, redbuds, crabapples, magnolias, japanese maples, beech, gingko, dawn redwood, service berry. Shrubs include viburnam, dogwoods, rose of sharon, spireas, hollies, blue mist, rhodos, azaleas, ninebark, weigela, elderberry, hydrangea, witch hazel.
My perennial beds are large and becoming more shade orientated as the years progress. But ornamental grasses are a large part of my sunny beds.
An important part of the winter garden is the hardscaping-arbours, well placed statues and art,the greenhouse and studio, birdhouses and feeders....and of course the birds. :)

Savanah Girl wears a mantle of snow

Thru the main arbour to greenhouse.

Arbour and birdhouses .

Kokepelli dances in the snow.

Bird feeding station in the snow.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: A Winter Garden in Ontario-Photos

wyndyacre,
You have a created a work of art.Wish I could get some winter snow here in Texas.No luck yet.I just love the third pic with all the snow on the trees in the back ground.
Rigo74

o

So beautiful - and I can imagine the quiet peace....and stillness.
thanks for sharing

o

Those are very beautiful pictures! You should submit them to the gardening magazines so everyone can enjoy them.

o

Great pics. Thanks for sharing

o

Very beautiful scenery, So peaceful looking, we have had a couple snows, but about 5 inches at the most. Sometimes we have a BIG one. Thanks for sharing your pretty place.

o

Thanks everyone for your kind comments.