Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stevek364

Rats in Yard

SteveK364
21 years ago

I have been feeding the birds in my backyard for about 2 years now. I have about 3 or 4 feeders out there. Over the last couple of weeks, I noticed a dead rat under one of the feeders, and I've seen one or two others running around.

Does this mean my birdfeeding days are over? Has anyone had a similar experience? I'm very disaapointed because I truly enjoy feeding/watching the birds.

Thanks,

Steve z5

Comments (62)

• steph_va
    20 years ago

Thank you for suggesting the pipe trick for rat poison..I have thought about setting poison out but I'm worried about my neighbor's cat..I don't want to poison him! My neighbors leave food out for him and their dogs all the time, and I started noticing a rat eating their food. Now I'm seeing two at a time and yesterday I found them in the yard, checking out my bird seed. Ugh! Maybe I need to feed less until I take care of the rats as well.

• animas
    20 years ago

Garden witch... Will cayanne pepper work to deter racoons? I have an ongoing battle with 'coons. Any experience with 'coons and cayanne?

• keyapaha
    20 years ago

Rats are one thing. Cats are worse. If you have irresponsible neighbors that have outdoor cats, then you should not be feeding birds until you solve your cat problem. You are simply serving dinner to the cats and decimating your bird population. It is remarkable how seemingly nature-sensitive people fail to make the connection. See the attached web site to learn of the millions of birds killed by irresponsible cat owners.

Key

Here is a link that might be useful: outdoor cats and birds don't mix

• MNature
    20 years ago

The natural world is one big food chain. Introducing a predator to control or curb overpopulation is quite a respectable, responsible practice. Many things other than cats prey upon birds....even other birds.

• keyapaha
    20 years ago