Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bigbobdallas

I am In Dallas Area-Help

Bigbobdallas
21 years ago

I am new to gardening. so I need alot of help, PLEASE. I am working on getting my beds prepaired. What do I need to plant for the winter months. And also what do I need to plant now for the next season

Comments (10)

• wild_garden
    21 years ago

bigbobdallas. i don't know much about dallas climate, but here in 6b virginia it is a good time to be planting bulbs for spring bloom. it is also a good time to be planting trees and roses and things that you want to establish over winter so they have good roots to grow on in the spring.

• botnnie
    21 years ago

Pansies are our winter flowers here, they'll bloom until summer. You can also plant snapdragons which bloom in the fall and then in the spring before they die in the summer heat. A lot of people also plant ornamental cabbage. That's what I can think of off the top of my head. For flowers next summer you can direct sow perennial seeds up until about 2 months before the first frost, which is usally later in November. It might be too late, but if you are eager, go ahead and try. Also check out the winter sowing forum for ideas. Word to the wise - plants that say "full sun" don't usually survive in full sun here during the summer. Good luck!

• spanishlace
    21 years ago

Hi Bob, Try the winter sowing forum. I live about 60 miles north of you, and even with the warm weather, I am going to give it a try. Cannas are great in this area, as are Nandina, which give lots of winter berries and pretty color. The Canna are tropical and wonderful in the summer.
    Check out Horn Canna Farm in NE Okla. for terrific Canna prices. Be sure to search for HORN not HORNS on the internet when asking for Canna. Canna give quick results and you do not have to dig them in the winter in this area. Lots of luck. Spanishlace

• Katt_TX
    20 years ago

Bob: