Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brainlingo

Over-pruning for Winter?

brainlingo
15 years ago

I'm new to gardening and have a question about pruning for Winter. I'm scared that I may have cut back too far on my Echinaceas. We've only lived upstate for a year and had a gardener take care of that last year but lost contact with him this summer. I did it myself, thinking I had to go back to about a foot from the ground. My wife was horrified when she came home since we have beautiful healthy crops growing around the property. Can someone tell me if they'll grow back in the spring? Did I go too far? Did I prune too soon? I'm a bit freaked out about it and any info would be most appreciated. I cut back on the Butterfly bushes too, but I read that they're pretty hardy...although again I wonder if I should have waited.

Thanks

Comments (3)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    15 years ago

Ok - we're talking about two different things. The term 'pruning' is usually reserved for woody plants - trees and shrubs - and involves the removal of superflous or damaged growth or enhancing existing growth and to encourage fruiting or flowering.