Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
superdavefive

Starting from seed.

superdavefive
16 years ago

I usually do not buy too many annuals each year because most end up as worm food. I decided last season to prepare for spring by starting annual seeds in my basement. I already have a grow light going to overwinter a few plants meant for higher than zone 5. Last week I ordered a dome for a seed flat which comes with a heat mat. I find myself going through countless seed catalogs(pen in hand)trying to make a go at this seed thing. My beds are pretty full, but I want to add plants that flower more frequently or add different color to spice things up. I'm almost afraid to buy too much seed! This was started with the idea of saving money! Any tips out there on what to start first or early because it takes a while to develop? Things to avoid? Certain merchants that offer better deals than most? It seems like there is a lot of knowledge in these forums. I am just a rookie starting his 3rd year in his first home.

Comments (10)

• tsugajunkie z5 SE WI ♱
    16 years ago

Pinetree Seed is the best bang for your buck catalog. I've ordered from them for well over 10 years now. Only place to get the impatiens 'Holstii'. Grows to 4 (yes 4) feet high by summer's end. As for what to start first, around mid-February I start impatiens and petunias.

tj

• taitai
    16 years ago

Dave,