Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nicole_02_gw

Tomatoes

nicole_02
18 years ago

I am new to gardening. I live in North Central Wisconsin and any advise you can give me regarding growing tomatoes would be great. I would prefer to grow tomatoes in a pot vs. in the ground.

Comments (4)

• JenWestie
    18 years ago

Hi Nicole:

I grew grape tomatoes in a pot 2 years ago and it was great. I would probably stick with determinite types so they don't overwhelm the pot. The tomato forum here has always been very helpful as well.

Jen

• paquebot
    18 years ago

Nicole,
    Much depends upon the size of your pots. As Jen said, the small guys, such as grape or cherry tomatoes, are better kept in check by limiting their root systems to 5-gallon pots. Put them in 10-gallon pots and some will still try to take over the world!

There are also small varieties which produce a somewhat normal size fruit. Most are determinates. That is, they set one big crop of fruit and then ripen all of them over a period of 2 or 3 weeks.

If you have to buy plants, not many places have small varieties that work well in pots. The usual exception is Patio Hybrid. That one can go into 3-gallon pots. Other than that, it doesn't have much more going for it as I've found it to be a rather plain-tasting tomato.

If you will be starting your own plants for normal-sized plants, look for determinates or early varieties. For example, do a search for Legend (red) or Taxi (yellow). Those will give you decent crops in 5-gallon or larger containers.

Martin

• noinwi
    18 years ago