Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chickscleo

Poppies....I am confused

chickscleo
15 years ago

I have had zero luck with poppies having tried seeds and transplants. I have been researching how to grow poppies. I am confused and to whether or not they need stratification or not?....Or do some and not others?

I love poppies and wonder what I am doing wrong...Are there any poppy experts out there that can help me out? Thanks!!

Comments (5)

• norabelle
    15 years ago

Hi chickscleo,

I am not a poppy expert, but I have successfully grown two kinds of poppies--Flanders and Oriental poppies. In fact, I have eight or nine clumps of poppies in my garden right now coming back from last year.

I winter sowed my poppies. (See the Winter Sowing forum for more information about this growing approach.)

I sowed my containers heavily, since the seeds are so small. I plopped my containers outside, the seedlings sprouted, and when they had their second and third sets of leaves (sometimes bigger), I planted them out. I had poppies blooming all summer. They were not big because it was the first year, but I am looking forward to larger poppies this year.

According to my winter sowing journal, I sowed Oriental poppies on 2/10, and they sprouted on 4/21. I sowed Flanders poppies on 4/18, and they sprouted on 4/24.

I have tried to winter sow Tibetan Blue poppies (Meconopsis betonicifolia), and I have not had any success with these. But I am still trying! :)

Hope this helps!

cheers,
    Nora Belle

• chickscleo
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thank you for the info...I have actually been looking into winter sowing. Too late this year but that brings me to another question. If the poppy seeds can be put out in containers during winter, can I just direct sow them now? The packages say to wait until all danger of frost is gone. I do see though that some types are annual or perennial...So confused on this issue...Oye!!!

• norabelle
    15 years ago