Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
garden_gazer

Ornamental Trees

garden_gazer
15 years ago

Hi everyone,

I am new to the Wisconsin forum. Happy to see so many WI folks looking forward to spring!

I need some help!

I have a fairly large sun garden in my back yard and the tree that I had as the focal point is not doing well. I want to plant a new tree in the center of the garden, but it can't get too big or throw too much shade. I would like the tree to flower, but it is not an absolute criteria. Any ideas for me?

I have a Redbud, weeping cherry, Tina crab apple and Lilac tre in the yard already.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions you may have.

Comments (9)

• superdavefive
    15 years ago

Ornamental trees are great because you get that once a year flower show. The problem is that a lot of these ornamentals are actually a fruiting tree. I just took out 3 crab apple trees last year from my back yard. I just didn't think the flower show was worth picking up all of those apples. I also have a couple of cherry trees that drive me nuts because the cherries take seed in my flower beds. These also seem to be prone to send up suckers.

Sorry for venting, but if I can save 1 person any frustration...

I would recommend a magnolia tree. These come in numerous different varieties. I have been told that the "star" shaped flower varieties have a decent record for overwintering. We have a magnolia in the backyard that we planted several years ago and it does great. My Dad has the biggest magnolia tree I've ever seen in this state in his back yard. I would not classify these as a tree that provides much shade; even at the size my Dad has. They look great in bloom and they do not bear fruit. If cost is an issue these get much cheaper in Sept/ Oct.

Good luck!

• superdavefive
    15 years ago

I thought of a couple non-flowering, but interesting trees to consider: