Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
learningasigo

More intro and question about shopping...

learningasigo
17 years ago

Like I mentioned before, I am new to Wisconsin. We live in Burlington but are actually closer to Lake Geneva and Twin Lakes than the city of Burlington. We didn't move too far, just from Northern IL but I did very little gardening and landscaping in my other home.

Along with this house, I got some nice but old, overgrown and previously unattended landscaping. We moved in exactly a year ago so last spring I mostly observed to see what would 'pop' up and assess what condition it was in. In the fall, I thinned things out (way too overgrown and crowded)and did some pruning and maintainence. Now that it is spring again......tis the season to go shopping!!

Is anyone from this area of SE WI (Burlington, Lake Geneva, Kenosha)and can suggest some good places to buy nursery stock? Do you recommend the home stores? nurseries? I've been to a perennial farm near LG which is very, very nice but they pretty much sell just perennials.

Thanks

Comments (7)

• justaguy2
    17 years ago

Stein's Garden Centers are a good place.

• tsugajunkie z5 SE WI ♱
    17 years ago

Three D Greenhouses in Mukwanago (Maple ave? on the south side of town) is good not only for perennials, but they have some nursery stock. There is another nursery in Mukwanago (whose name escapes me) near the corner of NN & 83. Also, being as you're from northern Illinois, you may know of Rich's Foxwillow Pines in Woodstock. Great place for conifers (and to see what mature ones look like). Not a place to buy run-of-the-mill plants, but an excellent place to see just about everything available in the world of conifers.

tj

• learningasigo
    Original Author
    17 years ago