Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardenquest_gw

How early to start southern exposure veggies?

gardenquest
17 years ago

I am still learning about gardening, but i know i always wait to long to start plating.I would like to try to have some tomaotes before the end of august this year if that is possible. I am going to be doing pots this year...on south side of house - with the exception of sugar baby watermelon in my old garden bed(14 x 8) at the request of my Daughter who's 8 - She wants to garden something also!

so......i am wondering what is the absolute earliest i can plant the following....will be buying Topsoil / or miricale grow dirt ( forget the name), they will be on the back of my house which southernn, = full direct sun.

Would it help me to buy that "wall-o-water"? ANY tips would be great.here is what i want to grow this year

1 Cherokee Purple - Pot in southern exposure

1 Green Pepper - Pot in same south exposure

1 sweet 100 cherry in pot (same area)

not realated...but wondering

How much room does a Zuchinni plant need? I have a old narrow flower bed that also has direct sunlight( it has no flowers in it) it is about 15" deep.....is that enough room for a Zuchinni or no?

Thank you

Tina

Comments (13)

• elvis
    17 years ago

Tina, you haven't started the toms yet? You're way late! Mine are 6" tall and will go out into the Wall O'Waters around May 1st. Or did you start them and you're wondering when to set them out?

Zucchini spreads into a giant basically round bush maybe 4-5' in diameter and 2-3' tall, depending on your soil.

• justaguy2
    17 years ago

You put out tomatos May 1st? Wow, I don't dare until May 20th-June 1st and I am in the southern portion of the state. Then again I haven't used the WoWs either.

Warm season crops generally just sit in the cool ground and do nothing until end of May for me.

• mrswaz
    17 years ago