Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lee53011

Hummingbirds

lee53011
17 years ago

Saw my first hummingbirds of the year at the feeder today!! He wasn't shy at all, just sat there with me about 3 feet away! Now if the rain would go away so I can plant him some flowers all will be well.

Lee

Comments (32)

• buckhill
    17 years ago

I just got my new feeder out today that my kids gave me for Christmas. I have never tried attracting hummers before, but am determined to try this year. Do you mix your own nectar? I'd like to hang it outside my kitchen window where we can see them from the table. Can I hang the feeder from a shepherd's hook?

Becky

• lee53011
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Becky,
    I use the mix that you buy. I have one feeder on a shepherds hook in the garden, and one hanging off an upper deck by my patio door.

Lee

• gardeningmomof3
    17 years ago

Becky,

Yes to hanging em from the shephards hook. Usually have four feeders hanging here from shepards hook and one that attaches to the window. So far though only got one up and haven't seen a hummingbird yet. Do have orioles though. Will get the rest up tomorrow. Usually make my own nectar. Four cups water to one cup sugar.
    Let us know when you see one at your feeder.

Suzanne

• taitai
    17 years ago

This must be the year for Hummingbirds. I've seen three in the yard already this year. It seems early for them. I stopped feeding them a couple years ago. They never liked the feeder. I plant alot of the flowers that attract them. In summer its rare to be in the yard over an hour and not have a hummingbird check me out. Often, when I am sitting on the patio, they will be feeding. Then fly about about two feet from my face and look at me then back to the flower, and back and forth. Here is a fun pic. Can you find the Humming bird?

• gardeningmomof3
    17 years ago