Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
luvtosharedivs

Anyone in WI grow Bamboo?

luvtosharedivs
15 years ago

If so, can you tell me where I might purchase a hardy variety?

Thanks,

Julie

Comments (19)

• luvtosharedivs
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Pbaby,

I'm in the SE corner of the state, and found a nursery that sells a few varieties about an hour west from me - Klehm's in Avalon.

Does anyone here grow any named varieties?

Julie

• milwdave
    15 years ago

Milleager's in Racine has Fragersia rufa, a clumper. I don't see them too often in garden centers.

Dave
    Franklin

• luvtosharedivs
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks, Dave,

In fact I drove there after work today, since I work in Racine. Those are some large containers, and a bit pricey ($50) for my first time trying Bamboo. I think I'll look around a bit - wouldn't want to lose one over winter, it I've never tried one before (especially at that price!)

Julie

• milwdave
    15 years ago

Ah...surprised I didn't see you. I was working the nursery lot.

• luvtosharedivs
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Well, next time I'm there, I'll look for you!

Actually, they weren't exactly in the nursery lot, but rather at the edge of the perennial lot (which I guess borders the nursery lot - Ha!) Another cyber-friend of mine told me I could divide the bamboo in sections, that way $50 isn't so pricey after all. I live closer to Milaegers in Sturtevant, so I may still check there. I'd better hurry, huh? It looks like they are specialty plants that may not be reordered? What do you think?

Julie

• milwdave
    15 years ago

We run out of quite a few things Julie. If it's early enough in the season we will reorder. But with something like bamboo it still depends on our suppliers as to whether or not we'll get it. Hope to see you sometime.:)

Dave
    Franklin

• luvtosharedivs
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Hey Dave!