Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
prunella_gw

Shirley poppies

prunella
16 years ago

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the Garden Web and I've really been enjoying it so far. I've found lots of things that have revived my interest in gardening, winter sowing (now I can't wait for winter and seed catalogs!), hypertufa troughs, and other people that love/hate gardening just like me.

Once upon a time my husband and I rented a place and the lady that owned it grew Shirley poppies and they reseeded themselves every year. We've moved a few times since then and I've tried growing them from seed, but so far no luck. I've scattered the seed in the fall thinking something would come up in the spring, I've tried growing them in flats, and I've tried direct sowing in the spring. Still nothing. What am I doing wrong? Any tips or tricks? I know they grow around here, a lady down the street from me has them.

Prunella

Comments (15)

• prunella
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks for the welcome Char. I can't believe that it's that hard considering they reseeded themselves where I used to live. The landlady wasn't one to fuss with her garden either, so I don't think she froze the seed or anything. I've scattered seed in my garden once again, maybe THIS will be the year they grow!

• tsugajunkie z5 SE WI ♱
    16 years ago

I grow a variety called 'Lauren's Grape' and all I do is spread them in the fall wherever I want them. Poppies usually aren't too fussy.

tj

• prunella
    Original Author
    16 years ago

TJ,

I Googled 'Lauren's Grape', they're beautiful. They're also Papaver somniferum whereas the ones I'm trying to grow are Papaver rhoeas. I wonder if that makes a difference? Maybe I'll get some 'Lauren's Grape' seed and sprinkle it out this fall. I wouldn't mind having them in my garden.

• tsugajunkie z5 SE WI ♱
    16 years ago

Prunella- email me, I'll have plenty this fall.

tj

• leftwood
    16 years ago