Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gunnysax

When do morning glories bloom?

gunnysax
17 years ago

My heavenly blues are growing tall and strong, but there are no buds yet. This is my first time planting them. I didn't use any fertilizer on them, because I read on GW that they don't like it.
Thanks to anyone who answers. Judy

Comments (12)

• username_5
    17 years ago

I don't recall exactly when they start blooming (mine aren't ready to yet either). Usually the vines are about 10' or so before they start blooming for me, but that doesn't really mean much.

Not long now ;-)

• citruscrazed
    17 years ago

Right now the base of my wines are really putting out the blooms. So it should be any day know for you guys.

• led_zep_rules
    17 years ago

It depends, those of us who are perpetually behind on their gardening and didn't plant their morning glories until JUNE still have a while to wait! Although one volunteer morning glory is already 4 to 5 feet tall, most of mine are still down on the ground with 4 or 6 leaves. Oh well, maybe they will bloom until November like last year.

Marcia

• lynxville
    17 years ago

I started my own seeds and mine are all in bloom, I sometimes get one flower on a 6 inch tall plant. Heavenly Blue is one of my favorites. My other favorite is deep purple.

I have many plants and in some locations they grow much faster than others. Seem to like a little shade better than full sun all day.

• Snomam
    17 years ago

Here it is August 1st and I'm STILL waiting for a dumb MG blossom, not even any buds yet! I planted the seeds after danger of frost (June 1), vines have outgrown the 10' tall trellis. Some of the bottom leaves are turning yellow, maybe because of the heat, I did keep them watered during the drought. I sure hope it will be worth the wait, as so far I don't plan to grow them again. Anybody else enjoying blossoms yet?

• lee53011
    17 years ago