Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kimcoco

Planting Bulbs

kimcoco
15 years ago

Hi all,

I'm new to bulb planting, but I've decided to plant tulips, daffodils and muscari at the base of a small Emperor Japanese Maple tree that was just planted this year.

What do I do with this area once all the blooms are spent? I know that I need to leave the foliage alone, but after the foliage dies off, what can I plant that will not disturb the bulbs and keep the daffs and muscari from naturalizing? I don't have a green thumb, and I'm only just beginning to learn about gardening, so any advice would be appreciated.

Comments (7)

• madisonkathy
    15 years ago

Kim, plant whatever you'd like. Spring blooming plants (bleeding hearts, for example) will hide the dying foliage of most bulbs, but won't stop the bulbs from getting bigger, and thus naturalizing.

• kimcoco
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I'm looking for some specific examples of things I can plant that won't be a hassle to disturb later on if I need to plant more bulbs in the future.

I read something recently in a magazine about a plant hardy to my region that is a good overplanting for bulbs, but now I can't locate it.

The area I'm planting in is full sun. I find that bleeding hearts do better on a north facing wall..I'm looking for more of a groundcover than something with a lot of height.

Any other suggestions are welcome.

Thanks!

• kimcoco
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I found one that I think I might like. European or Canadian Ginger, though the light requirements say full to partial shade, and this is really full sun.

Anyone have any experience with Ginger?

• Bob_Zn5
    15 years ago

"Anyone have any experience with Ginger?"
    Nice foliage plant but not for full sun. Ours is perfectly content & spreading on the North side of the house under a tree. It sees no direct sun.