Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tessa1175

It's all about Wisconsin...

tessa1175
16 years ago

...I am somewhat in awe, I am new to this site and gardening in Wisconsin apparently is quite a group as there doesn't seem to be another state featured.

At any rate, I am new to gardening and have run into an issue with a vine throughout my garden that comes up through several inches of mulch, newspaper, anything that I've put down. It has morning glory-like flowers and has made progress on pulling down my tomatoes, lilacs, cucumbers - anything it gets near.

I have heard that these are a common issue throughout Wisconsin - does anyone have any suggestions?

I keep pulling the darn things but I just keep thinking that there has to be a better way.

Thanks!

Teresa

Comments (25)

• pkton
    16 years ago

about the only thing I can recommend is moving to the desert where it doesn't grow!!! Just kidding! I would love to hear other's response to this question as I have tons of "bind weed" I think they call it. I have tried for years to get rid of it with little luck! I swear if you stand still in the garden long enough it will take humans down too! Let's hope someone has a good answer!
    Paula in Janesville

• franked1
    16 years ago

I believe you have bindweed.Control-clean cultivation-summer fallow orchemical. Just keep pulling, hoeing,chopping---two years and you will get most of it. Good luck--Fez920 Wi5

• daddylonglegs
    16 years ago

Good question, and yes it is bind weed. The roots are so deep that you can't really pull it and get the entire root. After I pull it I keep telling myself that when it grows back I'm going to try to untangle it from whatever it's growing on, then sponge Round-up on it.

Are you over-run with Purslane as well? That low growing succulent that seems to invade like the plague? That stuff drives me crazy!

• noinwi
    16 years ago