Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
luluz5

When do you plant your bulbs?

luluz5
17 years ago

I'm new to spring-flowering bulbs here in Wisconsin. When do you put your's in? Labor Day weekend? We live in Madison ....

Thanks!

Comments (5)

• gunnysax
    17 years ago

I live in Kenosha, and I plant mine the middle of October. I found some on sale at Wal-Mart last year on December 1st. 'dirt cheap' and took a chance and planted them. They were mixed daffodils, and they bloomed just beautiful. Try to get them in before the ground freezes so they can get watered and sprout some roots before the ground is frozen. Some bone meal in the hole you put them in also helps. There is also a bulb forum here on gardenweb you might want to look at. Good luck. Judy

• newhostaaddict
    17 years ago

well....i never buy any bulbs until they are at least 50% off the original price....

then i might go for some of the harder to get ones like the giant alliums...

but usually wait for the common ones to be 90% off....that usually puts planting into late october-early november here...and all have done well overwintering here...

jill

• elvis
    17 years ago

I put my bulbs in (with bone meal) in late October or so, when there is a definite nip in the daytime air. Water them in well, and they will develop nice healthy roots then go nighty-night...

It's also fun to plant some in pots, let them get good and cold outside, then bring them in for winter bloom. So cheery!

• led_zep_rules
    17 years ago