Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pondwelr

Pathetic Perennials

pondwelr
16 years ago

I got a bunch of hosta and coral bells on sale a few weeks ago, and got the last of them planted about one week ago.

All are looking pretty awful. Is this normal for fall planting? I'm new to this. I have been soaking them well most mornings during this heat. Each hosta has lost at least one leaf or more. The heuchera look sort of floppy.

Anemone are wilting. Should I worry? Should I mulch now?

I planned to wait until late Nov., but will get some kind of mulch on now if you all agree.

I did not fertilize, cut back or divide. Should I worry, or not? Everything is planted right under a river birch in poor soil with top dressing added each year. There was lots of surface roots and daffy bulbs to contend with. Not a happy experience. I guess I need reassurance that this was worth all the work.

Pondy

Comments (8)

• justaguy2
    16 years ago

Wouldn't worry about it this year. Perennials transplanted, particularly late in the season (but also sometimes early in the season) look like crud the first year.

Ultimately all that matters is the second year. Either they survive winter or they do not. If they do they are either established or not.

I have several perennials that the wife bought this year that we have planted. Some were early (and have done OK, with some exceptions) others we put in during the summer and they did poorly and others recently.

It really doesn't matter as long as they come back next year and that is the true test of how well suited they are for the conditions.

• Bob_Zn5
    16 years ago

I would keep them damp & not sweat the rest. See what happens in Spring, they'll likely be fine.

• aka_margo
    16 years ago

Hosta pretty much look like crud any time to you plant them, but especially in fall. No worries, they will come up and look a lot better next year.

• luvtosharedivs
    16 years ago

Pondy,