Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cheryloz4

caladiums

cheryloz4
17 years ago

Do you bring in or dig up your caladiums for the winter?

If so, how do you store them?

TIA

Happy Fall Cleanup!

Comments (5)

• daddylonglegs
    17 years ago

Cheryl,

I tried elephant ear this year, so I'm new at this too.
    I was hoping someone else would chime in before I did so I could learn also.
    My plan is to do the same thing I do for cana lilly, calla lilly, which is:

Wait for a frost to wipe out the foliage, cut it back to the ground and either leave it in the ground another week or so, or dig it up and wash it off. I let them dry on a tarp in the garage for a few weeks, then put them in a dark cool place like the basement. I put them on a shelf made of plastic fencing in a basement closet so that they are open to the air. Never had a problem. When I've stored in bags or saw dust I had more problems than when I just leave them exposed to the air, in the dark.

Rich

• cheryloz4
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thanks Rich.
    I do almost the same as you with my Cana bulbs. After I rince and dry I put em in boxes with some news papers. I forgot, I have some calla bulbs this year also I have to get out.
    So I'll probably pack the caladiums in with the cana's. I have a root cellar in the basement for storage. I guess I was wondering if there were any tips for storage.
    I can see how that plastic fencing/shelf would work.
    Cheryl

• PRO
    Catrina's Garden
    17 years ago

Hi Ya'll,