Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
janelkae

Looking for Veggie Gardening Mentor

janelkae
18 years ago

Hello. My name is Janel, and I am new to gardening. I live north of Madison. I have been too intimidated to start my own veggie garden, but I have decided to take on the challenge. I am looking for someone (or somebodies) that are willing to answer this newbie's questions and give me advice that I don't know I need! Let me know if you are up to the challenge!

Janel

Comments (14)

• megansarah
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Welcome to GW Janel! I think you'll find GW is a great source of information. I'm still kind of a veggie gardening newby myself (going on my 4th year) but I'd love to share what I've learned so far.

What are you planning on growing this year? Will you be doing most of your gardening in raised beds, directly in the ground or in pots?

• SandiBluffs
    18 years ago

Hi there Janel. Gardening is a very forgiving activity.

This is the place to be if you want to learn to garden. You will have alot of support. Just ask away and you will get the answers.

Vegetable gardening: Think about starting with leafy veggies first. They don't take alot of room, germinate quickly and mature within 2 months. Try:
    radishes, lettuce, spinach, kale.

Think about buying a bag of onions sets(bulbs in a bag). They are sold in many stores (grocery, hardware, Menards)in the Spring. You just place them in your loosened soil, water them and they almost grow themselves.

Check out some of the other forums: vegetable gardening, composting, etc. There is a wealth of info. Check out each forum's FAQ list first. Many of your questions will be answered right there. Soil prep is a biggie...see if there is a forum on that subject.

This is the best time to start thinking about gardening. You are already ahead of the game. :) SB

• janelkae
    Original Author
    18 years ago