Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pendleyj_gw

Saving a dogwood

Pendleyj
12 years ago

I have just bought a house in Augusta, GA that had a very neglected back yard! We spent the whole summer taking out brush and vines and have unearthed 2 mature dogwoods that are very badly in need of some help. the limbs stretch out very far with leaves only on the ends where they could get light. These would be beautiful trees if I knew how to help them make a comeback. Can anyone offer me some suggestions? Thanks! Im new to gardening!

Comments (7)

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    12 years ago

Initially, a generous helping of mulch is the single most beneficial thing you can do for neglected, established trees. Apply a 2 to 3 inch layer in as wide an area as you are willing to sacrifice to the trees, but never up against the trunk.

If these trees were covered up with vines, etc., there may be some problems with sun scald in the upcoming months. Maybe even a severe decline due to injury.

• chetster
    12 years ago

I hope I'm getting this port in on time to be of some help...There are numerous factors to take into consideration with Dogwoods..Be it known, these trees are now suffering many disease problems which one needs to check into on existing trees. Check the over all appearance of the tree prior to making any mechanical adjustments of the specimen. The prior submission makes a valid point regarding sun scald..If the trees have been neglected and covered from ample sunlight, the possibility of sun scald can be a major issue.
    The first attempt I would take to revive the trees would be to eliminate and significant sucker growth and also to tip back the entire foliage area. Cutting back will allow and encourage the tree to set a better root system, which in your case is priority.