Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
peaches20

Jack in the Pulpit Question

peaches20
16 years ago

Hi,

I've received some jack in the pulpit seeds in trade and started them in a mini greenhouse on a heat mat in breakfast nook. When I received the seeds, I put the in the refrigerator and then planted them directly into potting mix. Breakfast nook isn't the warmest room in house but thought it would be okay. Its been over three weeks and still no signs of growth.

Did I do anything wrong? I really like this plant and its my first time starting it from seed. Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks,

Peaches

Comments (7)

• razorback33
    16 years ago

Arisaema seed need about 3 months of cold stratification, below 40°F. and then warm temperature, to germinate.
    Easiest method to start them is; plant seed in a pot of moist soil, enclose in a sealed plastic bag and place in the refrigerator. After 3 months, remove from refrigerator and remove the plastic bag. Check for moisture content of soil and water if necessary. Place pot in a warm location, 68°F+/- and they should begin to germinate.
    Don't become discouraged if all of the seed do not germinate at the same time. I have had fresh seed that required two or three periods of cold/warm stratification before germination.
    Fall sown seed can be left outdoors in colder climates and should begin to germinate in the spring. Protect from rodents and birds with a screen. of course!
    Hope this helps. :Rb

• Lynda Waldrep
    16 years ago