Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hoyess

Creating a woodland in Ontario

hoyess
17 years ago

I am currently working on turning what is a scrub brush into hopefully a natural woodland focusing on native Ontario shrubs and trees.

I've added a link of what I am currently working with. At the end is a wish list of trees and shrubs.

As I have never done anything on this scale before, does anyone have any suggestions. I am going to work on trees and shrubs this summer then undergrowth and perennials next year. Any and all suggestions heartily welcomed.

Sharon

Here is a link that might be useful: building my woodland

Comments (7)

• Judy_B_ON
    17 years ago

Most of the shrubs and all of the roses you listed on your "want list" are not native to Ontario. Some of them also need full sun so not suitable for woodland understory. Flowering dogwood is borderline hardy in Ontario and will either die or not bloom. You can save some money by buying species instead of named cultivars. Where in Ontario are you? There are many small native plant nurseries that will be able to help you plan your woodland.

Little Otter is a well respected Ontaro native tree nursery with healthy stock and good prices. Check their list for plants that are actually native to Ontario.

Here is a link that might be useful: Little Otter

• knottyceltic
    17 years ago

Ya, I noticed too that there are a lot of non-native species there on your list. Not sure if you meant "focusing on native" as "all native" or just "mostly native".

Serviceberry, Spicebush, Redbud, Ninebark, Highbush Cran, Blue Beech, Pumpkin Ash, Winterberry, Red Oak, Bur Oak, Nannyberry, Arrowood Viburnum and Ash have all done well for me in full shade.

You might also consider Elderberry for the edges of your woods/paths as well as Grey Dogwood, Red Osier Dogwood and Bladdernut.