Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rosebug4u

Viginia Bluebells, planting bare root

rosebug4u
16 years ago

Hello, I have just received 5 bare roots of Virginia Bluebells and 3 are beginning to sprout at one end. How do you plant them? Do I put them horizontally one inch below the surface or do I put them vertically with the growing tip one inch below the surface? How can I tell which end is up with the root that isn't sprouting yet?

I would appreciate your help with this.

Thank you...

Comments (6)

• linda_schreiber
    16 years ago

I'm not an expert on planting bareroot bluebells, but you haven't gotten a better answer. The packet instructions probably would have said something like 'bury an inch below surface', but that would have been when the thing was dormant. The plant then would have figured out 'up' and 'down' when it broke dormancy.

I would suspect that, with bluebells, the end beginning to sprout now is the stem end rather than the root end. And you said "How can I tell which end is up with the root that isn't sprouting yet?" I suspect that in that sprouting end you recognized the developing bud.

I would plant them about an inch under the soil, but at the end that is sprouting, get that end at the level of the soil, or *just* below. I don't know that vertical or horizontal matters, as long as the budding end isn't buried. But I would get them in the ground *soon*!

Bluebells are very forgiving. Get them in the ground, with the growing part toward sun, and odds are they will do fine. You may not get optimum flowering this year, but they'll do fine.

• waplummer
    16 years ago

You would plant the roots vertically and the sprouting leaves upright. From the roots on these you can figure out how to plant those that are not leafing out. I just dug up a clump today.

• rosebug4u
    Original Author
    16 years ago