Return to the Woodlands Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
planting lily of the valley

Posted by mishko_2006 (My Page) on
Mon, Apr 2, 07 at 21:26

I've just got 2 pink-flowerering LOV plants from a nursery.

Do I plant the thin "roots" horizontally 1 inch deep and leave the small 1 inch "bulbs" underground too? (one plant has one of these, the other two)

Or is this an emerging stalk to be left sticking out of the ground?

I'm asking as the nursery gave no instructions and I'm a newbie.

Many thanks

MIshko

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: planting lily of the valley

MIshko, never had pink LOV,just the common white,not sure of the best way to plant them.But make sure, if they are like the white, that they are in a place you specifically want them.My whites looked great for a couple of years ,staying just where I wanted them.Little did I know they were sending runners all over creation.Next thing I knew I had a mess on my hands,they were popping up all over in my plants.I had to dig them back up and separate them from the plants roots. And anywhere they broke off new plants started growing from the pieces. I found them to be highly invasive in my woodlands...but you may want just a nice section off all by itself...nice plants though..good luck...Tom

o

I would put the whole thing under soil in a pot plunged in the ground. In fact, that is exactly what I am doing right now. I still have a 2x2' area to clear of lily of the valley before I plunge the pots. The part that is above ground is the green nub from which the leaves and flowers sprout. In my removal efforts, I have found some of these nubs to be just below the soil surface.

o