Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
katy_did23

How can I plant around native woodland wildflowers?

katy-did
17 years ago

I have a wooded lawn featuring a huge old White Oak, which I love, and lots of Red Maple, Big Tooth Aspen, Sassafrass, and some pines to name a few. One area of our yard, near the Oak, hardly had any good turf grass, so we stopped mowing it. To our delight several wildflowers suddenly appeared, including Columbine, violets, and some others I have yet to identify, plus some beautiful ferns. My question is this - how can I plant some more native plants and flowers in that area without digging up/killing the already existing ones? I am completely new to gardening, but have a strong desire to use only native plants and return much of our turf lawn to a more natural state. Any advice and encouragement is greatly appreciated!

Comments (3)

• ladyslppr
    17 years ago

Katy-did,
    You can dig and weed around native plants as long as you don't get TOO close. If a plant is kept in place, you could dig a weed as close as the outer edges of the leaves without damaging the roots too much. You could add woodland wildflowers in spots that currently have lawn grasses or weeds. You probably will find some weeds like dandelions, plantain, and other lawn weeds. You could dig these up and put new wildflowers instead.

If there is not too much lawn grass to remove, then it could be done with small tools (hand trowel, etc) close to existing wildflowers. Larger areas could be turned over with a shovel.