Return to the Woodlands Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Newbie needs help with mountian yard!

Posted by twotahoedogs Cali (My Page) on
Fri, May 26, 06 at 22:10

OK, I'm new to gardening and a bit intimidated with the empty slab of dirt in the front yard. We rototilled today and now we are just staring out at mounds of dirt. This is our first house and there was nothing growing in the front or the back.

I live in Lake Tahoe and I would like to keep a very natural front yard with little or no grass...boulders, trees, ect. But what else can I use for ground coverage??? Where should I start? The yard is not that big at all....but I just feel lost when I look at it!!!! Any resourses, ideas, or pictures would be a HUGE help.

Thanks!!!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Newbie needs help with mountian yard!

Your local conservation authority is a good place to start - go to the library and get some books on the local trees shrubs and wildflowers. good luck

jeff

o

The absolutely best advice I can give you is

TAKE YOUR TIME!

There are many considerations that you will need to address:
here are some off the top of my balding head!
1. What is the style of house you have purchased.
2. What is the square footage of the lot with the house on it and what is the square footage of the house.
3. Are you part of a new neighborhood with all the houses
in the same boat?
If not what are the landscaping features of the neighboring houses.
4. What are your personal preferences as to landscaping style: rustic, rocky, bare-bones, low maintenance, indoor outdoor carpeting, gravel, cement, naturalistic, patio gardens, etc. This forum has several different sections: check them out for any possible images as to styles presented.
5. What is the dollar limit you really want to put into your garden/yard. $100, $1000, $2000, ?????