Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kwoods_gw

Albino E. helleborine

kwoods
18 years ago

{{gwi:1354228}}

{{gwi:1354229}}

First time I have seen a completely white Epipactis helleborine. Anyone ever see something like this before? wonder if it would come true from seed.

Comments (9)

• macranthos
    18 years ago

Hi Ken,
    Neat! :-) That is truely a rare specimen.

I saw one once in Santa Cruz, CA, out of the hundreds or thousands of these invaders in the area. I've read that this species is "common" to have albino plants, at least more often than other species.

Albinism (sp?) is recessive, so a selfing might retain the trait, but I'd like to see someone try to grow it... It'd have to be done symbiotically in vitro and I've never done that sort of stuff before. People do it, but usually research folks. Same reason that you don't see Cephalanthera or Corallorhiza commercially available seed grown. I'm sure you could find an isolate from Epipactis pretty "easily" if you know where to look. I'll ask around.

Best,
    Ross

• macranthos
    18 years ago

Epipactis helleborine forma monotropoides (Mousley) Scoggan: albino

• kwoods
    Original Author
    18 years ago

I see, now that I'm looking, there are quite a few randomly occuring described forms. Interesting, Thanks Ross!

These badboys seed around like crazy so I might just move this one (isolate it) and let it do it's thing. I think it's autogamous, yes?

• macranthos
    18 years ago

I can confirm that at least the normal form is autogamous. Just move it in the fall. The roots go way out and down (18in or more out, and 12in down), and on a plant like this, the roots are essential.

Best,
    Ross

• hoe_hoe_hoe
    18 years ago