Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
knottyceltic

I just want to cry.... :o(

knottyceltic
18 years ago

This year for whatever reason (bumper year for the pests) these little green worms are eating my ENTIRE WOODS! My columbines are gone for the second time and I'm afraid this time they are TOAST but now all the forest plants are affected by them and are getting gobbled up like mad. My little woods looks HORRID, they are getting my Redbud tree, my Beech tree, both my serviceberries, my dogwoods, witchhazel, my viburnums and all the ground plants are toast... virginia bluebells GONE! I don't know what to do. I've never used a pesticide before and I'm not keen on it but these things are devastating our woods and I think it's because all our neighbors (woods also) have either sodded their woods or used roundup so we are one of the few with actual foliage and are getting hit VERY hard. Please help, these things can destroy half a shrub in one night's work and I don't have much time left before all the shrubs are bare.

Barb

Comments (13)

• kwoods
    18 years ago

Usually a population explosion in one species is followed by a population explosion in another species a bit higher up the food chain. Long term you could try and encourage predator species like birds and parasitic wasps. You'd have to figure out what the critter is first and what eats it.

But, that doesn't help you now does it? First thing I would try is to put some soap in a hose end sprayer and see if you can knock 'em off the stuff you value most. Then I would call the equivalent of your local county extension office and see if they know what they are and whether they can suggest a remedy. You can usually send a sample for ID.

Good luck!

• felpec
    18 years ago