Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vkarenv

Choosing a plant to grow in forest over pet

vkarenv
18 years ago

Hello all,

My ferret died recently, and, as I have no yard of my own, I am thinking of burying him in a beautiful area of a state park mountain forest in Maryland. The forest is not close to my home, and I tend to move often, so I'd like to bury seeds with him from which plant I could later take a cutting to grow in a pot wherever I move. I need help choosing an appropriate plant. The criteria, in order of importance, are:

1. will grow and survive without assistance in Maryland forest at significant elevation (cool, shady, animals)

2. can produce cuttings that will grow in a pot

3. will grow enough in the next few months that I can take a cutting by autumn (is this possible?)

4. also nice if it could grow in my mom's yard in northern Illinois (more attention available there)

5. pretty; not necessarily flowering, but leafy is nice

I have no experience gardening. Maybe that will be one more gift Bagel the Ferret will leave me... my first semi-gardening experience! Thank you for any suggestions.

- Karen

Comments (12)

• kwoods
    18 years ago

I'm sorry for the loss of your pet.

Maybe you should choose to plant something that is already existant in the state park? Take seeds from something already there and plant them for Bagel. I hope you don't consider me uncompassionate/indifferent for saying so, and I know it's not what you need to hear right now but I'm not sure burrying your pet in a state park is a good idea, it may even be illegal, not sure.

That doesn't mean you can't plant something nice in your chosen spot in his/her honor and take some of it to Illinois with you to remember your pet. Try and ID some of the things already growing there that you like or find interesting. If you take pictures I'm sure people on this forum will help to ID them for you

Cool and shady? Hepatica is nice and will blossom early every spring to remind you.