Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
catgrass_gw

Can I mow my woodland garden?

CatGrass
18 years ago

Hello - this is my first year with a woodland garden. Actually, I have had it for two years but never bothered to look at it the first year. My question is this, can I mow the woodland garden without harm to the spring ephemerals? The garden is a natural woodland of about 1/2 acre - there are more woods, but this particular half acre is my 'yard'. It is overrun with weeds; burdock, garlic mustard (all pulled before seed) etc. I am sure there are sedges and other grasses that are right to be there - but I cant tell what belongs and what doesn't for the most part.

I don't really know much about woodland gardens, though I enjoyed the spring plants and have been reading up as much as I can find.

I sure would like to mow it though - is that bad?

Comments (8)

• waplummer
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Create some paths through your woodland. Any and all desirable plants in the path dig up and transplant in your woods. Then you could remove any shrubs or tree seedlings and do likewise. Next take a weed whacker to the path to clear it of undesirable plants. You could also use round-up to kill the unwanted plants. Some people suggest putting a mulch down on the paths, but mine are just bare dirt that in many spots are moss-covered.

• razorback33
    18 years ago