Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
larysanadia

what is the best way to clear brush under trees?

larysanadia
19 years ago

In a month I will be moving into a new house that backs up to a tree line. The trees are covered in vines and a heavy underbrush (20 feet deep). I don't see any poison ivy, but lots of thorns (and ticks). I am not experienced at this, but I would like to clear the brush and plant some native plants and shrubs. Should I...kill the brush with a spray, pull it out, use a chipper to make a manageable size, and spread on the ground to decompose? Please help!

Larysa from Southern PA

Comments (20)

• joepyeweed
    19 years ago

easiest way is to burn it off. i dont mean get out a match and light a fire... its a prescribed burn done with the appropriate preparation and under the right weather conditions. there are crews who are trained to do this. you may want to find a local NRCS office or the Nature Conservancy in your area to look for some reccomendations. its not uncommon - in a wooded area - in the spring after a burn for native plants come back all on their own.

• lycopus
    19 years ago

Burning might not be the way to go in PA, especially if it is a forest. Oaks are resistant to fire but if you light up a maple/beech forest with dense underbrush that could seriously get out of hand and destroy all the trees. Cutting brush with loppers or hand saw in the fall and treating the cut stumps with herbicide is the way to go in most cases. Chipping the remains and using that for mulch is a good way to recycle. You might want to try to identify the plants you consider brush before cutting. Some of it may be desirable and have the appearance improve when the remainder is removed.

• john_mo
    19 years ago