Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
giantslug

Buckthorn and Honeysuckle herbicide questions

giantslug
15 years ago

I have been cutting and and painting the stumps of Common Buckthorn this fall with Garlon 4 in mineral oil (1 part G4 to 3 parts oil). I am wondering how long into winter can I do this and still have it be effective? Will it work even after the soil is frozen? Also, will Garlon 4 in oil work on shrub honeysuckles (Tartarian and Morrow)? I have found conflicting information on this, some sites I have read say Garlon is not effective on honeysuckle and others say it is.

Comments on your experience with killing buckthorn and shrub honeysuckles would be nice too.

Thanks

Comments (14)

• dandy_line (Z3b N Cent Mn)
    15 years ago

Hi. I've been waging war on Buckthorn here in Meeker county for 5 years now. My 2 1/2 acres was totally overrun with the stuff. My strategy is to spray new green growth with high concentration of 2-4-d(~= 2%). This is only done in early Spring when new growth is present. Cutting large plants one year results in lots of suckers the next year which are then doused with 2-4-d. This mostly kills it. About 10% will need another dose the next year. This is the best way I've found to eradicate huge numbers of the things. Spraying in early Spring also saves the natives growing nearby as they green up later.

• bill1955
    15 years ago

I've been using Garlon 4 (1 part to 3 parts diesel or bark oil) on buckthorn cut stumps (in MN) for 10 + years. You can treat all through the winter (when I do most of my cutting) with equally good results. It also works well on Tartarian honeysuckle. I've even killed buckthorn this way in spring when the sap flow is supposed to inhibit kill: it still killed for me, but I have a lot more experience in the cold months.

• jpal
    15 years ago