Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
beth11_gw

Newbie here- Magnolia bog question

beth11
19 years ago

Hi All,

I usually hang out on the veggie/tomatoes forum, but I'm glad I found you all. I have a couple of wooded acres on my property next to the house. When I first moved in, I had plans on paths and planting, but got sidetracked. What got me interested again was an article in the local paper about "magnolia bogs". An acidic boggy area caused by seeping groundwater. Features sweet bay magnolia trees. Apparently it is a local feature in this area. I have a stream that runs thru the woods. When I first moved in, I tried to track the source but was dissapointed to find it started in a big old muddy area. I now believe that it is a seep. We have gravel/clay soil and the ideal conditions for a magnolia bog (and wild magnolia trees!). What intrigued me is the potential wildflowers that may be growing in my woods. I can't wait til spring. Long story short, has anyone heard or have experience with this type of bog and what I should look for?

Thanks,

Beth

Comments (9)

• lycopus
    19 years ago

Have you tested the pH of your seepage? Since you describe your soil type as gravel/clay, I would expect the groundwater might be somewhat alkaline. It might very well be acidic though.

• beth11
    Original Author
    19 years ago

If it ever stops raining, I will. I suspect it is acidic, but I'll check. I did find striped wintergreen plants in the woods- didn't know what those little cool plants were until I came here!

Beth

• beth11
    Original Author
    19 years ago

OK, I took a water sample and tested it- yes, acidic. PH either 5.5 or 6.2 (two different types of test strips) and very soft. Surprisingly clear, too.

Beth

• lycopus
    19 years ago